I stumbled upon this post from Seth Godin, the marketing pundit.

Often we consider an opportunity based on how easy it is. The problem with this analysis is that if it’s easy, it’s often not worth doing. It’s easy to start a blog, but of course, starting a blog doesn’t really deliver a lot of value. Posting 4,100 blog posts in a row, though, isn’t easy. It’s do-able, clearly do-able, and might just be worth it.

Successful organizations seek out the do-able. When Amazon went after the big bookstore chains, analysts ridiculed them for doing something insanely difficult. But it was clearly do-able. Persistence and talent and a bit of luck, sure, but do-able.

Sometimes we seek out things that are actually impossible. Building a search engine that’s just like Google but better is impossible (if your goal is to dominate the market with it). It’s fun to do impossible projects because then you don’t have to worry about what happens if you succeed… you have a safety net, because you’re dreaming the impossible dream.

Do-able, though, is within our reach. Ignore easy.

What he says here makes a lot of sense to me. I have had a blog for over an year and still 25 posts, which don’t even matter. Doesn’t really add value by any means either. Yet, I consider myself doing something that is do-able. Though, now I would aim to do something that is impossible for many. Hence, I’d have a safety net (as Seth mentions). What ever I do off the impossible, would then become an achievement.

 

“It’s impossible.” said pride/ “It’s risky.” said experience/ “It’s pointless” said reason/ “Let’s do it!” said the Entrepreneur.”

9 responses »

  1. This blog site has some really useful info on it! Thanks for sharing it with me!

  2. Great post, I think people should acquire a lot from this web blog its rattling user genial. So much great information on here :D.

  3. “Hello! I could have sworn I’ve been to this weblog before but following browsing through some with the post I realized it’s new to me. Anyways, I’m definitely happy I located it and I’ll be book-marking and checking back regularly!”

  4. found it says:

    When are you going to post again? You really inform me!

  5. Some really nice stuff on this web site, I like it.

  6. rather helpful stuff, on the whole I picture this is worthy of a bookmark, thank you

  7. Some genuinely wonderful content on this internet site, thank you for contribution.

  8. go here says:

    Major thankies for the article.Really thank you! Really Cool.

Leave a Reply

